National Nutrition Month!

Two things I love about the nutrition/dietetics profession is we have a whole month dedicated to food & a day to celebrate Registered Dietitians :)

Yesterday, March 12th, was National Registered Dietitian Day!

MjAxNC0yZDBjMzgzMTZmZDQwNjUy

I can’t even begin to tell you all how appreciative I am for every dietitian I have interacted with – they are all so full of passion, joy and overall just really nice people. It seems like every dietitian really wants to help out the #rd2bes, which I could not be more thankful for!

It makes sense that National Registered Dietitian Day falls in March because March is National Nutrition Month!

NNM_2014-400px-WEB“Enjoy the Taste of Eating Right” is the theme for this year and I think it is a wonderful theme! Healthy foods isn’t synonymous with boring and flavorless food – it is about eating what is healthy and delicious based on your preferences! When I work with clients who struggle to enjoy fruits and vegetables, it is about finding a seasoning or preparation technique that suits them.

Another aspect I adore about the dietetics community – we all have different opinions, taste preferences and beliefs about food & health. No one person has the same thought because there is “perfect” way. Although, I think we can all agree that health is one of the greatest gifts we are given :)

24d2b453f2b96274bd482393504a83eb

1 Comment

  1. Hi Kailey.
    I can’t believe that this month is National Nutrition Month! It’s awesome. And I agree that every RD I have interacted with are amazing! Fun, nice, and passionate about nutrition and health. =)
    I also agree with the differences in the beliefs of food and health. I’ve interacted with many RDs and also read some blogs of some of them, and I see the differences.
    Happy National Nutrition Month! =)

Thoughts?

