Dreamy Chocolate Coconut Oat Bran

Coconut – you either love it or you hate it.

Me? I love obsess over it. I couldn’t tell you why – I just think it has an amazing, rich flavor. I know I have exclaimed my love for this wonderful tropical fruit, but lately I’ve been enjoying some sort of coconut flavoring at every meal. The only coconut trend I can’t jump on is coconut water. While it might have amazing hydration properties, the taste really deters me.

This caffeinated runner has been sick for the past two days. Yesterday hit me like a ton of bricks – fever, body aches, migraine, fatigue, nausea and coughing. Essentially, every flu symptom known to man. All I wanted was a comforting bowl of oats with my go to flavor – coconut. While I am feeling 97% better today (no fever! yay!), I know the medications and not my breakfast, played a large role in that. I’m still thinking it was the coconut ;)

Dreamy Chocolate Coconut Oat Bran

Coconut OatbranServes: 1

Ingredients:

ingredients

  • 1/2 cup dry oat bran
  • 1/2 Tbsp sweetener of choice
  • 1 Tbsp Jell-O Coconut Cream Pie Pudding mix
  • 1/2 tsp coconut extract
  • 1/2 cup milk of choice
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 small banana
  • 1 Tbsp shredded coconut flakes
  • 1 Special K Dreamy Coconut Bar
  • 1 Tbsp Chocolate Coconut Almond Butter

Directions:

  1. Combine dry ingredients (oat bran, sweetener, pudding mix) in small pot
  2. Add in water/milk blend and coconut extract
  3. Place on stove-top and set to medium heat (3-5)
  4. Cook until your desired consistency
  5. Pour into bowl and add banana slices, special k coconut bar, chocolate coconut almond butter and shredded coconut flakes
  6. Enjoy!

Coconut CloseupPerfection in a bowl :)

Follow me on Twitter & Instagram

1 Comment

Thoughts?

