Mocha Chocolate Waffle

If the name of my blog is any indication of my love for coffee, I am surprised I didn’t think of this recipe earlier. I have used coffee in my oats before, but why not use it in a waffle!?

acb7b7e29727b84ccd0b2d0c3dc556c2Yes, it was fabulous. This particular waffle came out so fluffy, yet dense and satisfying. All I can say is that you better make this asap! Secretly, I am just using this as an excuse to add more coffee to my meals because I can never have too much.

Coffee seems to be a pretty controversial ingredient these days. However, here are some redeeming qualities of my beloved drink:

  • Improves energy levels because it is a stimulant
  • Might improve physical performance
  • May lower the risk of developing Type II Diabetes
  • One of the richest sources of antioxidants in the American diet
  • Potential protection from Parkinson, Dementia and Alzheimer Disease (source)

Anything to justify my 5 cup a day habit, right?mochawaffle

Mocha Chocolate Waffle

Serves: 1

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup white flour
  • 1/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp of sweetener
  • 1/2 tsp of baking powder
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 tbsp of nut butter (I used Justin’s Vanilla Almond Butter)
  • coffee, to desired consistency
  • Non-stick cooking spray

Directions:

  1. Heat waffle iron
  2. In mixing bowl combine dry ingredients (white flour, whole wheat flour, sweetener, baking powder and cocoa)
  3. Mix dry ingredients until thoroughly combined
  4. Beat in egg
  5. Add coffee. (I personally love thinner waffle batters as they spread in my iron better, so add to your desired consistency)
  6. Mix ingredients until waffle batter is formed
  7. Spray waffle iron with non-stick cooking spray
  8. Pour batter in and cook to your waffle irons directions
  9. Top with nut butternutbutter
  10. Enjoy the coffee buzz

Because life is always better with some nut butter and coffee :)

Follow me on instagram & twitter!

10 Comments

  1. Pingback: Smoothie Takeover | Pb & Jess

Thoughts?

