Springing into Fall

I think it is safe to say that Fall has arrived in Blacksburg. Long gone are the days where I can just wear shorts and a sweater. Oh well – all the more reason to bundle up in cute hats & scarfs.

Along with the weather change, food companies have been pumping out fall products. Basically, anything you like is now in a pumpkin variety. But, I have a slight confession.

I’m not a huge fan of pumpkin.

There, I said it. Sure, I like it, but I don’t hunt down every pumpkin product on the shelves. I’ve tried to like it but I just can’t. However, that 6 pack of Pumpkin Spice Bagels needs to be eaten because I hate wasting food. Thus, a breakfast sandwich was born that actually made me enjoy the bagels.

Pumpkin Cinnamon Egg Sandwich

Ingredients:

  • 1 Thomas Pumpkin Spice Bagel
  • 1 Laughing Cow Cheese Wedge – Cinnamon Cream Cheese
  • 1 Large Egg
  • Tons of Cinnamon & Pumpkin Pie Spice

Directions:

  1. Heat your skillet to low-medium heat
  2. Whisk egg, cinnamon and pumpkin pie spice together.
  3. Pour into warm skillet
  4. While the egg is cooking, split open the bagel & smeare the cream cheese
  5. Cook egg to desired consistency & place in the bagel
  6. Enjoy!

Lets be honest though, the star of this meal was not the Pumpkin Spice Bagel – it was the Cinnamon Cream cheese.

Holy Moly – t’was excellent.

Injury Update:

  • Getting better with each day & every run #winning
  • Miles are slowly getting back up to normal.
  • Stretching might be a new love of mine.
37 Comments

  1. I’m with you on that – I’ve never been a huge pumpkin fan. I prefer a lot of other flavors over pumpkin. But, I always “play along” this time of year since everyone else seems to enjoy pumpkin!

  2. Loving the new blog look, Kailey! I’m glad to see that I’m not the only blogger who isn’t crazy about pumpkin! I remember having high hopes when I bought my first can of pumpkin puree last year. Unfortunately it was nothing what I expected and the only way I could manage to eat it was is in the form of pancakes.

  3. I NEED THAT CREAM CHEESE. They didn’t have it at the store, I’ll have to check out all the other grocery stores in town lol. Also, I’m not a pumpkin fan either – last year I was obsessed with it and I think I burnt myself out on it hah. Apple cinnamon though? that’s my fall flavor jam for sure :-D

  4. Thank you!!! I am not a huge fan of pumpkin either!! Though I roasted a pumpkin and made my own puree, and that really helped. The fresh stuff is pretty good…it isn’t as intensely pumpkiny, so all the other good stuff you add to the recipe (i.e. pumpkin pie spice flavors) shines through more!

  5. Glad to hear that you’re healing, love :) And I’m definitely with you on the whole pumpkin craze. I can handle it in small amounts, but I don’t really feel the need to have pumpkin everything just because it’s Fall. Thankfully, the craze doesn’t seem to hit us that bad up here in Canada, so pumpkin is usually limited to things like teas and maybe some muffins. The one thing that does suck though, is that we don’t have access to a lot of the cool things that you guys get down there. I’ve been looking everywhere for that cream cheese, but I can’t seem to find it :(

  6. You’re not a big fan of pumpkin? Blasphemy! ;)

    This sandwich looks really good though – especially that LC cheese. I’m crossing my fingers we have that flavour in Canada because I’m definitely going to look for it at the grocery store this weekend.

    Also that’s awesome to hear that your running is going well!

Thoughts?

