A New Season

Yes, I’ve been away from the blog world.

Yes, I’ve been busy & survived a week straight of exams.

Yes, I’ve been enjoying college life & friends.

I tweeted about blogging earlier this morning, so of course when you tweet something, it means it is true.

Truth be told, I really do miss blogging and taking pictures, because photography is a love of mine. Not to mention, I should probably get some use out of my Nikon, but that is a whole other story. Anyways, things have really quieted down in terms of school so I though I would write. Since my last post, some things have changed, both good and bad:

  • Still marathon training :D
  • Managed to get two very minor injuries that really tested me. First it was a bruised tendon in my ankle and now its a very, very mild case of IT Band in my upper thigh. I’m not going to lie and say its been easy. Mentally, its been rough. Two back to back injuries makes you feel like your body hates you and is breaking down. To not be able to run the way I like to/want to got me down a couple times. Mostly because I love the wind in my face while running around campus. I like waking up to the sun rising, birds chirping and the bus drivers waving to me. It is just what I’ve known for the past 2 1/2 years here at Tech. Regardless, things are finally turning around and getting better thanks to two amazing doctors.
    • Lessons learned: ALWAYS and I mean ALWAYS wear proper running shoes. Never go with a new brand or size when you know what works. Also, it helps when the soles aren’t run down.
      Cross Training might be the bane of my existence, but the week I took off from running to focus on studies actually benefited my runs and ensured my IT Band didn’t flare up. Listen to your body.
  • Coffee Creamer has changed my life in the best way possible. Don’t get me wrong, I still love it black, but halfway through my cup I LOVE adding some. In case you were wondering, Coffee Mate’s Pecan Praline is epic. Baily’s Cheesecake Creamer isn’t half bad either.
  • I changed my minor to Food Science and Technology after realizing I have a passion for working for a food company post undergrad. Couldn’t be happier.
  • FALL WEATHER IS HERE !!! Pumpkin Spice Bagels? Heck yes!

Naturally, I have a fall inspired recipe for ya’ll!

Creamy Parmesan Chicken Stuffed Acorn Squash

Ingredients:

  • 1 small acorn squash
  • 1 Garlic Chicken Sausage (I love Alfresco)
  • 1/4 cup Classico Creamy Spinach & Parmesan Sauce
  • Cabbage
  • Mushrooms
  • Kale
  • Heaping amounts of Garlic Powder & Basil

Instructions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 400F.
  2. Slice squash in half and take out the seeds
  3. PlaceĀ  on baking sheet that is sprayed with cooking spray and bake for 40 minutes
  4. While the squash is baking, sautee the chicken sausage, cabbage, kale and mushroom together. Season generously.
  5. Take squash out of the oven and let cool for 2-3 minutes.
  6. Combine the chicken sausage and vegetables with the tomato sauce
  7. Divide into two portions to fill both squashes
  8. Enjoy!
56 thoughts on “A New Season

  1. Holy moly, that recipe is going to be a must try!! Thanks for posting Kailey! And good luck with the healing process on your injury. Before you know it, you’ll be back out there and at it! <3

  2. I know EXACTLY what you mean with regards to consecutive injuries. It’s so frustrating, especially when you feel like you take steps to prevent them. Having good doctors makes a huge difference though. I love the people who treated me over the course of the past year!!

Thoughts?

