I’m a Towny

Hey Everyone!

Sorry I have been so MIA for the past few weeks. I have a good excuse, if you let me explain.

If you follow me on Twitter, then you would have seen that I recently moved into a townhouse with my roommate/best friend/twin (no she’s not my actual twin, but we are pretty much the same person with a few exceptions). Not going to lie when I tell ya’ll that living off campus is SO much better than a dorm. I really enjoyed the whole decorating/moving in process. It is also nice to be cooking every night. Naturally, to kick off my junior year I made a beautiful bowl of oat bran, which I haven’t done since high school. Enter an epic creation:

Banana Chocolate Peanut Butter Oat Bran

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup of oat bran
  • 1 Tbsp of Peanut Butter
  • 1 Banana
  • 1 cup of Water
  • Sweetener to taste
  • 1/2 Tbsp of Cocoa Powder
  • 1 mini sized Clif Dipped Chocolate Peanut Bar (or 1/2 of full size bar)

Instructions:

  1. Turn on stove to medium heat
  2. Combine water, oat bran, cocoa powder and sweetener in a small sauce pan
  3. Place on stove top until the oat bran begins to swell – cook to your desired consistency. Longer for thicker/dryer oats and shorter for runnier oats
  4. Remove from stove top and pour oat bran into a bowl
  5. Top with sliced banana, peanut butter and Clif bar
  6. Enjoy!

I know what you all are thinking – why couldn’t you just make your oat bran in the dorm via microwave? Well, I am picky. I love my oat bran on the stove because I find the taste/consistency is SO much better – super thick, dense and almost cake batter like. Trust me, once you have ‘em stove top you never go back.

What was your first meal in your new pad?

66 Comments

  1. Hey Kailey! I just got back to Tech and am LOVING living in an apartment with my good friends. I’d love to still meet up if you’d like! I just ran my first half marathon this past weekend and have been on such a running high ever since, so I’d love to talk to someone who’s equally as obsessed :) I’ve been experimenting with oatmeal, bananas, and egg whites pretty much every morning. I love PBCrave’s CocoNana peanut butter too!

  2. YAY on the new living-sitaution!! heck yes to a stove-top for oats
    …I like microwaved oats too, thank goodness because I only have time on the weekends to make stove-top oats.
    I hope you had a great weekend girl!!
    xoxo!

  3. I can’t even remember the first thing I made, but I”m sure it came out of a box and it we ate it from a pot. When I was in college (many blue moons ago…ha ha) we were not nearly as sophisticated : ) Congrats on the new place. It is so fun!!! I loved living off campus with my friends and all these years later we are still just as close, even though we live far away. Looking forward to reading all about the fun new recipes you will make in your new kitchen!

  4. Isn’t living in your own place fun?? I don’t move in for a couple of weeks, but am very excited to finally have my own space to decorate and cook of course! Funny because I’m rooming/living with someone who could practically be a twin too! :) Good work

Thoughts?

