Macro Managing

Suffice to say, it has been one heck of a summer. I had an awesome internship experience with a fabulous RD, caught up with old high school friends, shopped for my apartment (!) and spent quality time with my family. Oh and I got to spend a week in paradise for the week, aka Hilton Head. Life is good, but I am itching to get back to school because Virginia Tech is one of my favorite places on earth. Not to mention I am missing my roommate & friends like crazy. Oh and ABP Coffee, but that is to be expected. Since life has been a tad crazy, I haven’t been too crazy in the kitchen but I did find time to heat up my favorite Macrovegetarian meals.

Udon Noodles

I could pretty much sum this box up in one word: ginger. Seriously, the ginger flavor was overpowering. Let me preface by saying that I am not a huge ginger lover. Sure, I love small amounts of the spice added to my stirfrys for some Asian flare, but not to the point where its all I can taste. For this noodle box, all you can taste is the ginger. While its not terrible, I just would not get this again. One the plus side, the noodles were nice and al-dente, just the way I like my pasta. Also, there were huge cabbage chunks for a nice crunch.

Rating: 2 Coffee Beans

Shanghai Dumpling Box

Welp. I hate to say it, but I think I found a meal that I would never eat again. These dumplings had a weird taste – they were bitter and minty. The mint flavor was a little overpowering. It wasn’t the kind of mint flavor that cleanses your palate either -  more of the “oh my goodness why does my food taste so bitter” kind of mint. Sure, the dumplings were nice and soft and made with whole wheat flour (not to mention the box contained 80% of my daily calcium!) but the strong bitterness just overpowered the great texture of this meal. Oh well, you win some & you loose some.

Rating: 1 Coffee Bean

Have you ever bought a product by a favorite brand that you just did not like?

29 thoughts on “Macro Managing

  1. Sounds like a great summer! I remember the feeling of wanting to get back to school – less for the school and more for the friends. It’s nice to look forward to!

  2. It sounds like you’ve had an amazing summer! I completely understand wanting to get back to school though; I used to feel that way in college too–home was great, but I was always ready to see my friends after a few months away!

    Product “misses” can be so disappointing, especially when it’s a brand whose products you usually love. This happened to me with Oikos frozen yogurt. I love their regular Greek yogurt, but the frozen version tasted really funky!

    Hope you had a great weekend! <3

  3. That is so nice you had such a lovely summer… it does indeed sound like a successful one :) That is also great you want to get back to school… I never really liked college in the 4 years I was there and I just wish once there I felt like getting back there. Sigh… ahh well, maybe nursing school will be different.
    Anyway, thanks for the review and now I know what NOT to buy! What a bummer those dumplings were so bad

  4. Oh no! That’s so disappointing. I know how I feel when I’ve eaten something I don’t fully love. I can’t think of something off the top of my head, but I know that I’m so disappointed when I order something from a restaurant and I regret it the second I put it in my mouth, because it’s just “meh.”

  5. I love EVERYTHING by Luna! Or so I thought until I had their S’mores bar. It’s not that I disliked it, I just didn’t like it. After being used to loving everything, it was a little disappointing! :P

  6. Happy to see you had a great summer break!

    I “trust” many brands and am often willing to spend the money to try new products, but I totally feel your pain when a product is a disappointment. You live you learn!

  7. i’m glad you enjoyed your break! i hate being disappointed with food – especially when you have high expectations! boo, and it’s worse when it’s dinner versus just a small snack!

  8. I cannot wait to see you too roomie! And it deff feels time for school to start back up especially with all of the new things happening this year! SO excited!!! I cannot think of the last product I have tried and disliked… hmmm NOPE nothing is coming to me at the moment but I think it is because I have not been trying a whole lot of new products per say just lots of veggies lol

  9. Nothing is worse than soggy noodles/pasta- al dente all the way! Have you ever tried the Raw Revolution bars? I bought the cookie dough flavor expecting something amazing..especially after reading rave reviews on other blogs. It was so unappetising that I had to throw it away…and I HATE throwing away food!

  10. Are those shanghai dumplings from Whole Foods? I remember having something similar and thinking they were going to be really good, but was so disappointed!

    It’s awesome when you can have a great summer away, and then anticipate going back to your regular routine :)

  11. I actually really love udon noodles! When they are mixed with the right amount of seasoning and peanut sauce…they are SO GOOD. :)

  12. I’m so glad that you’re enjoying your summer! It sounds like it’s been amazing.
    I’ve actually never tried udon noodles OR dumplings. haha. I’m not a huge fan of asian foods in general. But, that’s a bummer that they were disappointing. I hate when that happens!

  13. ew these sound gross haha. I can’t say I’m a fan of many asian foods (sad, I know), so I doubt I’d even think to pick something like that up….I think the last bad food product experience I’ve had was those seaweed snacks things – I picked up the chipotle-flavored ones because i LOVE chipotle anything, but um…oh my god seaweed is nasty. never again lol. I took one bite and had to throw the rest out and promptly chew about four sticks of gum to get the taste out of my mouth haha! Aaah glad you’re getting excited to head back to school too, always my favorite time of year !

  14. That is too bad those dumplings weren’t that good! they look good haha. But that is honestly the worst when you like a brand and expect everything to be so great! I tried a variation of the flatout wraps that are endorsed by hungry girl (the pretzel one) and I thought it would be great since I love flatouts. Sadly, I was not impressed!!

      • exactly! I was so sad haha. I can’t think of the brand right now it may be thomas but they are pretzel rolls sold in the bread section of most grocery stores and walmart..don’t taste a thing like pretzels! just a to warn ya!:)

  15. I’m glad you’ve had such a good summer! I’m in the same boat as you – mine has been good, but I’m so excited to get back to school again!

    I love Chobani yogurts, but I’m not a big fan of their vanilla flavour. I always buy Liberte or Oikos vanilla instead!

Thoughts?

