I’ve Got Some Beef

in my sandwich that is!

First off – can we just give a BIG Congrats to all the lady marathoners today!? Epic race. I do feel bad for Desiree Davila because she had to pull with a hip flexor injury :(

Confession: about 4 months ago was the first time I had ever had roast beef. I was always a turkey & chicken kind of gal when in game to my lunch meat. One night I decided to switch it up at my favorite sandwich spot and I was so glad I did! Not only does roast beef taste great, but it is a lean option when choosing red meat and has more iron than chicken and turkey! Iron can only benefit runners – healthy red blood cells allow for more oxygen to be transported to muscles during intense exercise, thus preventing fatigue! And I must say, roast beef taste pretty darn good!

Sautéed Spinach & Garlic Roast Beef Sandwich

Ingredients:

  • 2 generous handfuls of spinach
  • 1/2 tomato, sliced
  • 2 slices of Boars Head London Broil Roast Beef
  • 2 slices of bread (I used whole grain oatmeal by Pepperidge Farm)
  • 1 Laughing Cow Garlic & Herb Cheese Wedge
  • 2 TBSP of Part Skim Ricotta Cheese

Preparation:

  1. In a small skillet/pan, crank the dial to medium and lightly coat the pan with cooking spray/olive oil
  2. While the pan is heating, combine the ricotta & laughing cow cheese wedge. Feel free to add extra seasonings & spread onto two slices of bread
  3. Slice tomatoes.
  4. Once the pan is heated, add the spinach and saute for a couple minutes – until spinach is deep in color and a little wilted, but not dried out.
  5. Place spinach on one slice of bread.
  6. Top the spinach with the sliced tomatoes & roast beef.
  7. Place other slice of bread on top to complete the sandwich
  8. Enjoy :)

Now tell me – what is your favorite sandwich creation?

47 Comments

  1. Beef, garlic and spinach sounds like an amazing sandwich combo! I think home-cooked ham and home made coleslaw on seeded bread is my favourite – but I’d be all over this one as well :-)
    The marathon was epic and I couldn’t believe how close it was in the end… the 100m was beyond epic as well, Bolt’s amazing!

  2. This sandwich looks amazing! I used to stay far away from roast beef too, but I’m so glad I began incorporating it back into the mix last year. I find it much more satisfying than turkey/chicken, and the flavor is amazing.

    My all-time favorite sandwich is a turkey pesto panini with muenster cheese and tomatoes. I also LOVE classic grilled cheese!

  3. Confession: 3 Christmases ago was my first time trying roast beef back in Kansas when my mother in law made it for us! (back them, not yet MOH) :P It was amaaazing….and now I eat it from time to time because the people at our church make something like it really often.

  4. You seriously love sandwiches. I LOVE it. lol. I think that a good sandwich is dependent on the bread that it’s made on. It can make or break it. I try to go to the farmer’s market and get one every weekend. I got a multi grain on Sunday, just toasted it and put some roasted red pepper hummus, avocado, tomato and cucumber. It was delicious.

    Nothing beats a nice grilled sandwich though. :-)

  5. I’ve never had roast beef! I’ve actually been thinking of picking some up the past couple grocery store visits, but now I’m sold. Guess I know what I’m having for lunch today! :-D My fave sandwich creation….ok so I see your and Shannon’s tweets about Baker’s Crust, I went there ALL the time when I was at W&M and I loved their chicken/mozz/pesto/tomato/spinach sandwich – always asked for it on a toasted baguette nom nom nom

  6. I don’t really eat sandwiches but I love grilled chicken, avocado, tomato, sprouts and worchestor sauce :) I could probably use some more iron in my diet since I don’t eat red meat often, so I’ll have to pick up some roast beef next grocery trip!

  7. My favorite, favorite sandwich is Caprese. Fresh mozzarella, thinly sliced tomatoes, a few basil leaves, ciabatta bread, and drizzles of high quality EVOO and balsamic vinegar. Definitely not protein-packed like roast beef, but I could eat this sandwich combination forever and not get bored.

Thoughts?

