There Are No Words.

There are no words to describe my love for artichoke hearts.

There are no words to explain how much I enjoy the creamy texture of ricotta cheese

There are no words to justify my adoration for a good sandwich.

There are no words to do this sandwich justice.

Oh – I went there.

Let me give you some background. There is this killer sandwich/Irish bar in Blacksburg. Honestly, I’ve had many a great sandwich creations there. However, nothing beats their spinach and artichoke dip. Warm, creamy, artichoky & garlicy don’t even begin to describe the amazing flavors from that dip. I blame my best friend for getting me addicted to that stuff ;) Yes Shannon, I’m talking about you! The two of us make a monthly trip to our beloved restaurant and since school is out, I had a major craving for some good spinach and artichoke dip. Alas, I really wanted a sandwich for lunch. Why I didn’t think of this earlier, I really do not know.

Ingredients:

  • 2 Slices of Bread (I used whole wheat)
  • 2 slices of MeunsterCcheese
  • 2 large handfuls of spinach
  • 5 Artichoke Hearts
  • 2 Tbsp of Part Skim Ricotta
  • Garlic powder, Salt, Pepper and Basil (Basil is optional)
  • Olive Oil for the pan

Steps:

  1. In a small skillet, heat up some olive oil on low/medium heat
  2. Add your seasonings (garlic powder, salt, pepper and basil)
  3. Add your spinach and cook until it turns deep green and wilty
  4. While the spinach is cooking, combine your 2 Tbsp of Ricotta and artichoke hearts in a bowl. Add a little garlic powder to the mix.
  5. Once the spinach is done cooking, add the spinach to the ricotta/artichoke heart mixture and stir
  6. Spread the spinach & artichoke dip onto two slices of bread.
  7. Place the two slices of muenster cheese on top of the spinach & artichoke dip on one of the slices of bread
  8. Take other slice of bread and make into a sandwich
  9. Place onto a small skillet that is greased with olive oil
  10. Flip when bottom is golden brown

Just go make this sandwich. Now :)

61 Comments

Thoughts?

