Wrappin’ It Up

I realized I have not talked about running once since starting this blog, so I thought I should probably recap my past week in running. If you assumed running is a huge passion of mine then you’d be correct. I enjoy training for an upcoming race because it gives me motivation to get out the door when I’m just not feeling it. Right now, I am not in “training” per say, my dad and I are still working out the logistics for my next marathon but I still like to pretend that I am.

Mileage –> 72.55

Honestly, this is pretty normal for me – give or take a few miles. It feels great to get back into my routine. Between finals, moving out of the dorm and starting my internship I had to take lots of rest days (no complaints) and adjust my schedule.

Reflections of the past week:

  • Hills are killer – running in Virginia is a lot easier.
  • Hills make for killer leg muscles.
  • New York drivers are aggressive & don’t care about the little girl running on the side of the road if they have places to be
  • Ditto to teenagers
  • Hot weather really drains me – pace & energy wise.

Of course I can’t leave you without some food – after all runners need fuel ;)

Sundried Tomato Basil Pesto Chicken Wrap

In the wrap:

  • 1 large whole wheat tortilla
  • Laughing Cow Sun-dried Tomato Cheese Wedge
  • Trader Joe’s Sweet Basil & Pesto Chicken/Turkey Sausage
  • 1 large zucchini
  • Handful of sun-dried tomatoes

I sauteed the zucchini to soften it & spiced it up with basil, oregano and Italian seasoning.

That’s a wrap!

P.S Follow me on twitter :)

42 thoughts on “Wrappin’ It Up

  1. Sounds like your running has been going really well, that is some impressive millage! One of the greatest regrets I have of my condition is that I never got to give running a go.

    Your wrap looks delicious, I love zucchini and sun-dried tomatoes so I’m sure I’d love it :-)

  2. DANG GIRL!! You’re a running beast!!! Care to share some of that awesomeness with a chick who loathes cardio?? :D

  3. Haha your comment about NY makes me laugh. When I was visiting I was convinced if I tripped and fell NYers would just step on me and walk by. And I just requested you on twitter!

  4. That wrap looks delicious! I’m about to start running outside (I usually run on the treadmill but I’m moving and won’t have one anymore). I’m not looking forward to hot weather and hills! I hope I can keep up my running outside.

  5. I’m loving everything about that wrap–yum! TJ’s chicken sausages are my go-to quick meal (love the spinach and feta!), but I’ve never tried incorporating them into a dish/sandwich/wrap. Thanks for the idea!

  6. Running in the heat drains me too. It’s rough. I’ve found that in order to distinguish between heat exhaustion and actual exhaustion is to monitor my heart rate. It’s helped heat running so far!

  7. Love the looks of that veggie wrap! Looks delicious. I really need to try those laughing cow wedges. I’m super impressed by your running, I’m definitely not a runner!

  8. Awesome mileage!! Thats fantastic. I agree that NY drivers are super aggressive, they will totally run you over they don’t care! I’m always so cautious running on the roads and fear for my life sometimes! haha

    That wrap looks SO good, anything with sundried tomatoes is good in my book :)

  9. Hi, Kailey, thank you for stopping by my blog! I used to eat sun dried tomatoes and toast almost every day, I should go buy some soon! And yours is the second runner’s blog that has motivating me to start exercising regularly again…I think it’s a sign! :)

  10. WOW, that’s bomb mileage. May I ask how you typically get it in? I live in MD but I didn’t know VA wasn’t hilly.. I go to school in the ‘Dacks and it definitely ia a little more hilly than MD, but not significantly haha! You go girl!

  11. YES to the hills and the heat!! I am trying to acclimate to the heat right now, 90+ degrees at the start of my run=ouch :)
    I hope you’ve been having a great week so far!
    xoxo!

  12. i love love loveee laughing cow wedges! they’re so convenient and fun flavored haha. this wrap also combines pretty much all of my favorite things…I’m a sucker for sundried tomatoes! And NICE MILEAGE btw! and way to crank out those hills…I feel ya on that one. I went to college in virginia as well (William and Mary) and um, running at home is quite a bit more vertically challenging hahaa.

Thoughts?

